OMEGA UP CLOSE:

Meet Sheresa Galbreath

DeAnn Seneff

If you call or visit Omega, you will most likely be greeted by Sheresa. With her calm demeanor and friendly voice, Sheresa is familiar to most Omega clients. Initially starting Omega as a bookkeeper, processing Omega’s accounts receivable and payables, her responsibilities have grown over the years. Sheresa juggles a variety of roles in addition to month-end duties: receptionist, human resource assistant, and assistant to Linda Brower. Additionally, she works on quotes for clients. In February, Sheresa will celebrate her thirteenth anniversary with Omega.

Let’s get to know a little bit more about Sheresa in her own words:

What do you enjoy most about your job?    “I love working with numbers, so being a bookkeeper is the perfect job for me. I especially enjoy the challenge of getting everything to balance at the end of the month.”

What was your background before joining Omega?
“I have always been employed in positions that involve working with money. My first job was as a cashier with Caldor, a store that is similar to WalMart. My position immediately prior to Omega was as a bookkeeper.”

Have you lived anywhere besides Arizona? “I’ve been in Arizona since 1994. I’m originally from Brick, New Jersey, which is very close to the location where they film Jersey Shore. I moved to Arizona seventeen years ago to attend DeVry Institute of Technology, where I received an associate’s degree in Computer Programming.”

What were your original career aspirations? “As long as I can remember, I’ve always enjoyed working with numbers and was certain I wanted to work in accounting.”

What do you enjoy doing when you’re not working? “I play World of Warcraft, an online role playing game, with my husband and daughter. What’s great about the game is that I’ve made a lot of great friendships over the years by playing with the same people, although most of them I’ve actually never met in person.”

“My family recently started hiking as a way to see new sights in Arizona. Not really any major hiking, but something I call “beginning hiking.” Our most recent hike was to “Hole in the Rock” at Papago Park in Tempe.”

“One of my favorite things to do is search for ghost towns in Arizona. It’s interesting to see where people lived years ago. One place I love to visit is the old west town of Tombstone in southern Arizona. I’ve seen the movie Tombstone about Wyatt Earp countless times.”

Tell us about your family. “I’ve been married for 11 years to my husband, Brian. I have a daughter, Amber, who is 11 years old, and a 17-year old step-daughter named Kristina.”

Any pets? “We have a yellow lab named Goldi, along with four cats. We are foster parents to feral kittens, where we raise them until they are old enough to go to the Humane Society to be adopted. It’s fun to take care of them as kittens, but it can be difficult to give them away, so we try not to get too attached. It makes it easier to let them go when we know they will be going to a good home.”

Where do you like to travel? “When I was in high school, I was the captain of the Flag Team. We did a lot of traveling–each year to a new place. Some of the places we performed include Florida, Puerto Rico, and Canada. My husband and I really enjoy going on cruises. The most recent cruise we went on was to the Mexican Rivera to celebrate our 10-year anniversary. Most of the cruises we go on are to places in Mexico like Cabo San Lucas and Puerto Vallarta.”